We're here to help.

Managing Archives and Studies

Archives are listed in the left side of the screen. Each archive contains individual studies, and each study contains saved images and clips.

We recommend organizing archives in a way that most benefits your organization's needs. For instance, a residency program might create a separate archive for each resident to track their studies. A large hospital might split up their archives by specialty or department, and a smaller clinical practice might separate archives by year or quarter, to make individual studies easier to find.

Creating a New Archive

Note: Only members who have Admin privileges can create a new archive.

To create a new archive:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. On the left side of the screen are all your archives. Click "Create."
  3. Enter an archive title and click "Create."

Deleting an Archive

Note: When an archive is deleted, the studies contained within that archive will not allow commenting.

To delete an archive:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. On the left side of the screen, select the archive you wish to delete. The archive opens in the center of the screen.
  3. In the top right corner of the archive window, select the "Archive Settings" icon, which looks like a gear.
  4. In the Settings page for your selected archive, select "Delete Archive." The system prompts you to confirm the deletion.
  5. Click "Delete" to delete the archive.

Restoring a Deleted Archive

Note: Restoring an archive also restores all studies contained in the archive. However, if a study from that archive had been deleted before the archive itself was deleted, the study is not contained in the archive and is not restored at this time. To restore that study, you must first restore the archive in which the study is contained, and then restore the deleted study independently.

To restore a deleted archive:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. Click the "Deleted Archives" drop-down menu located at the bottom of the list of Archives on the left side of the screen.
  3. The drop-down menu reveals a list of deleted archives. Click the deleted archive you want to restore.
  4. Select "Restore" at the center of the screen. The system prompts you to confirm the restoration of the deleted archive.
  5. Click "Restore" to restore the deleted archive.

Moving a Study Across Archives

Note: Members who have Admin privileges can move any study from one archive to another. Regular members can only move studies they have created.

When moving a study from one archive to another, the study is sent to any new DICOM endpoints to which the new archive is connected. Studies that were manually sent to DICOM endpoints are not impacted.

To move a study to a different archive:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. On the left side of the screen, select the archive that contains the study you want to move.
  3. In the right corner of the study, click the drop-down menu icon to display the menu. Select "Move Study."
  4. In the Select Destination Archive window that is displayed, select the new archive destination. The study is moved to the new archive and automatically placed in the proper location based on the upload date within this archive.

Deleting a Study

Caution: Deleting a study deletes it from the archive. Ensure necessary images are transmitted to your medical record before deleting.

To delete a study:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. Select the archive that contains the study you want to delete.
  3. In the top right corner of the study, click the "More" drop-down menu to display the menu.
  4. Select "Delete study." The system prompts you to confirm the deletion.
  5. Click "Delete" to delete the study.

Restoring a Deleted Study

Deleted studies are listed in the Deleted Studies at the bottom of the left side of the screen.

Note: if you would like to restore a deleted study, the archive in which it was originally contained must be available. If this archive was deleted, you must restore that archive first and then restore the deleted study.

To restore a deleted study:

  1. Log into the Butterfly Cloud.
  2. Click Deleted Studies on the bottom of the left side of the screen. The deleted studies are displayed in the center of the screen.
  3. In the top right corner of the study, click the "More" drop-down menu to display the menu.
  4. Select "Restore deleted study." The system prompts you to confirm the restoration of the deleted study.
  5. Click "Restore" to restore the study.

Deleting Individual Scans

To delete individual scans from a study:

  1. When you're ready to save the study, click the number on the top right of the scanning window.
  2. Enter patient data and any notes you might have about the study.
  3. On the top right, click "Save".
  4. On the next screen, select the archive where your study should be saved.
  5. Below your list of archives is all of the videos and images from your study. If there is a check mark on the image, it will be saved in the study. Tap the images or videos you do not want uploaded with the study.

Once a study is uploaded, it is not possible to move or delete individual scans.  Deleting individual scans is on the product roadmap for future release. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Thank you for your feedback

We’re sorry this didn’t answer your question. We’re here to help. Contact us